Country Radio Broadcasters Announce Bill Mayne As Recipient of 2019 CRB President’s Award

(NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Feb. 21, 2019) – The Country Radio Broadcasters, Inc. have announced long-time music industry veteran and outgoing Country Radio Broadcasters Executive Director, Bill Mayne, as the recipient of the 2019 CRB President’s Award. The award will be presented during the Country Radio Hall of Fame Dinner and Awards ceremony, to be held at the Vanderbilt Marriott in Nashville, Tennessee on Wednesday, June 19th at 6 p.m. CDT.

In April of 2018, Mayne announced he would be leaving his post following the 50th Anniversary year of Country Radio Seminar. He is a past board member of the Country Music Association and has served over 35 years on the Academy of Country Music Board of Directors covering every officer roll including Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Board of Lifting Lives, the charitable arm of the ACM.  Additionally, Mayne was one of the original industry advisory members for the St. Jude Country Cares for Kids Radiothon Program, which has raised over $700 million dollars for St. Jude since 1989, and serves as National VP for MDA. He also is a member of Leadership Music.

Mayne, who has led the Country Radio Broadcasters/Country Radio Seminar for nearly a decade, has an extensive background in the radio and record industries with senior level experience in Country radio broadcasting, major and independent record labels, artist development, and management. His extensive and lengthy resume includes radio broadcast programming and management at KZLA/KLAC Los Angeles, KSCS/WBAP Dallas, KASE Austin. During his record label days, Mayne was Sr. VP/General Manager and VP Promotion at Warner Bros. Nashville, VP of Promotion and Artist Development at 903 Music and in more recent years and prior to his term at CRB, he was the President and owner of Mayne Entertainment, an artist management company as well as the owner of Mayne Street Consulting, a private entertainment consulting firm providing analysis and guidance to a wide range of clients in the entertainment field.

Country Radio Broadcasters Board President, Kurt Johnson commented, “Over four decades, Bill Mayne has been a fixture on Music Row. He’s had success in Country Radio, promotion, label management, artist management and, for the past ten years, leading Country Radio Broadcasters and Country Radio Seminar.  When you consider the breathtaking span of Bill’s influence on Country, he’s the obvious choice for this year’s President’s Award.”

This year’s Country Radio Hall of Fame event will also honor the “Class of 2019” radio inductees that were recently announced during Country Radio Seminar (CRS). Four off-air broadcasters and two on-air personalities will be honored and are Mac Daniels (KPLX and KSCS/Dallas) formerly KALM, KBOX/Dallas, KPLX, WMXQ/Washington, KASE & KVET/Austin, WYCD/Detroit, iHeartMedia, KSKS/Fresno, and NASH-FM/San Francisco; Bobby Denton (WIVK/Knoxville); Jeff Garrison(KCYY/Cox Media), formerly KKBQ, WESC, WFNQ/Greenville, KMLE/Phoenix, KILT; and Gregg Lindahl (Cox Media) formerly KOMA/Oklahoma City, WSM-AM/FM, WKY, WSOC-A/F/Charlotte, KUPL/Portland, and WKXK/Chicago; representing the off-air category and Charlie Monk(SiriusXM’s “Willie’s Roadhouse”) formerly of WGEA/Geneva, AL, WMTS; and Kyle Cantrell(SiriusXM) formerly WMTS/Murfreesboro, WSM-AM/Nashville, and WKDF/Nashville, representing the on-air category.

The Country Radio Hall of Fame is dedicated to the recognition of those individuals who have made significant contributions to the radio industry over a 20-year period, 15 of which must be in the Country format.  The Country Radio Hall of Fame was founded in 1974 to recognize outstanding individuals working in the broadcasting industry who are promoting the Country radio format. 

Darcie Van Etten