Country Radio Broadcasters Induct the Class of 2018 into the Country Radio Hall of Fame

(Nashville, Tenn. – June 21, 2018) – The Country Radio Broadcasters, Inc. held the 2018 Country Radio Hall of Fame dinner and awards ceremony June 20, 2018 at Vanderbilt Marriott in Nashville, Tennessee. Seven on-air personalities and two off-air broadcasters were recognized for making a significant impact on the radio industry over the course of a 20-year period, with 15 of those years being contributed to Country-specific radio. 

The evening was filled with honoree presentations, acceptance speeches, video segments, and more. Many of the honorees gave praise to their mentors and reflected on their journeys by sharing some of their most cherished moments throughout their career.  

The 2018 Country Radio Hall of Fame Class included Radio category honorees Michael O'Malley of the Albright, O'Malley & Brenner consulting firm, and the late Lisa McKay, VP/Programming at Curtis Media/Raleigh, who doubled as PD for WQDR. The Air Personality category included Andy Ritchie and Alison Mencer ("Andy & Alison") formerly of WIVK/Knoxville; Steve Harmon and Scott Evans("Harmon And Evans") formerly of KPLX/Dallas and WXTU/Philadelphia; and Bill Barrett, Tim Fox, and Tracy Berry("Barrett, Fox, And Berry) still active at KKNU/Eugene, OR. 

Additionally, Steve Wariner was honored with the 2018 CRB Artist Career Achievement Award, and Charlie Morgan (Senior Vice President/Market Manager of Emmis New York) was recognized as the recipient of the 2018 President’s Award. CRB Executive Director Bill Mayne alongside surprise guests Garth Brooks and Trisha Yearwood presented Wariner with the Artist Career Achievement Award, and current CRB Board President Kurt Johnson presented Morgan with the President's Award. 

Many past inductees were in attendance, including Jaye AlbrightBeverlee Brannigan, J.D. Cannon, Charlie Chase, Tim Closson, Lorianne Crook, Jonathan Fricke, Dan Halyburton, Lon Helton, Mike Kennedy, Jim Mantel, Charlie Ochs, Joel Raab, and Tim Roberts

For information about the annual Country Radio Hall of Fame Dinner and Ceremony, contact the Country Radio Seminar offices at 615-327-4487.

Darcie Van Etten